From Overwhelm to Engagement

The entrepreneurial spirit sustains many of us, but it confuses just as many.

The same creativity that helps the small business owner avoid the “corporate trap” can sometimes lead to spreading yourself too thin.   

Andrew is a case in point. Andrew’s highly entrepreneurial mind and eager eye for opportunity had him running in circles. Listening to his passion about the four different – and I mean completely different – businesses he was running reminded me of what my father said at the dinner table one fabulous holiday feast.

I was probably about 10 years old. The feast was extravagant and wonderful. All my favorite foods were on the table and it was glorious!

I distinctly recall the oddly uncomfortable but luxurious feeling of an over-stuffed belly and asking my father the question: “What’s the name for this feeling, Dad, the feeling that everything tastes so good you want to keep on eating, but you are so full that you can barely fit anything more in?”

As clear as anything, I can still hear his reply: “Oh, yes. There is a name for that, Suzie. It is ‘greed’.”

With all my being, I wanted to argue with that because greed is such a harsh word and I did not want to be greedy. But there was no argument: this was an honest-to-god “Ah-ha!” moment for me. He was right. That meant I had to choose between the yummy and the awful knowledge that greed was my master.

Making choices is what we do. Human beings have free will. Instinct or innate patterns do not control us. It is our job to choose. Even though we are built to be decision-makers, making a decision is not always easy.

It was Andrew’s job to choose – or else succumb to being far too full of new ventures to be effective at any of them. Andrew and I worked through his indecision, using his birth chart for guidance. It helped him diagnose his passion for each business – this one stemmed from the excitement of the challenge, the next from the idea of quick money, and one was all about the desire to make a difference in the lives of others.

Once he was clear on where and how each one touched him inside, the decisions came easily. He was quickly able to sort out his priorities and narrow his focus to one business. By bringing his focus to “the big Why” in his life, Andrew was able to see how to adjust the attention he gives to his different interests so they best serve his highest goal.

At the end of our meeting, Andrew felt he had his sights set on where he was going and proudly said he was now able to be greedy about the right thing – going after what really matters!